Winter mail to Canada

I got a penpal request from this lovely lady on Instagram a while back, and her starter was in the giant pile of mail waiting for me when I got back from Christmas break. Now that I’ve received her reply (and thus know she received this) I can share! I wanted to make her a little booklet letter, inspired as I was by the lovely mixed media booklet that she’d sent me.

For the front of the booklet I used a vintage repro winter card with a snowman, as we’d finally been getting some snow around here when I put this little thing together. The colour scheme was a little all over the place, but with a focus on icy blues and cold greens, withΒ lots and lots of gold pens and washi. Overall this booklet is a lot ‘rougher’ than the other ones I’ve made, and it was fun playing around with that style.

As always when I make a booklet, I try to make it feel interesting by having mismatched levels and things that overlap – generally speaking, no two corners should match! Below are some of the pages from the booklet.

As a final small touch, I played around a little with the envelope. Instead of a normal envelope (or my usual candy bags) I put all the details straight onto the booklet and stuck it into a see-through bag. Nothing but the stamps on the outside!

May the postman deliver ever in your favour,
x Alex.

18 thoughts on “Winter mail to Canada

    1. I’ so happy to hear it! Hoping for exactly that is the reason I started sharing my mail in the first place – I’ve spent so much time on other people’s blogs looking at all the fantastic things they thought up. I look forward to seeing what you do!

      Like

  1. I definitely think you have already found some of your style, though I’m sure it’ll keep growing and evolving. ❀ This is GORGEOUS. I love these booklets; they're killin' me. XD

    Like

    1. Haha, thank you! It especially warms my heart to hear you say it because you’re such a creative soul! πŸ˜€ I’m quite enjoying making these little booklets too, they’re a blast!

      Like

  2. Looks great once again!! Since I love drooling over your pretty mail so much, I nominated you for the Liebster Award! Hope you accept it and you can find the details over on my blog. I’d love to include a representative image of your blog next to the nomination as well if that’s ok with you?

    Like

    1. Aw, you’re too sweet! Thank you! I’ll definitely try to put something together in terms of participation – but it might take a little while, the upcoming week is looking crazy with deadlines. Feel free to include any pictures you want πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I love how, even though you say your color scheme is “all over the place,” everything still comes together so beautifully. You make some of the most lovely mail to look at, Alex!
    p.s. I love your Don’t worry, be happy quote.

    Like

    1. Thank you! It’s lovely to hear you say that πŸ˜€ And a fun note about the quote: I realized just as I got to the e that I didn’t have any alpha stickers for e in that colour, and immediately started to think of how I could undo it all – before taking my own advice. After all, it’s nothing important, why worry about it? πŸ˜›

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

