Giving orange some credit

There are a few colours that I really like. Most shades of blue, most shades of green, everything red and warm hues of pink. Bright yellow can be lovely too. Other’s I’m less fond of – cold shades of purple come to mind. And while I never disliked orange, I never liked it either. Every time I did, it felt a little like an exception, despite the fact that I’ve seen others do stunning things with the colour. So today I decided to challenge myself and use some of that orange washi tape I’ve got and genuinely do like, but that always get’s neglected.

This letter’s gone out to Amanda, a new penpal from London. I’m hoping she’ll like the cheery bright colours.

In practically all of my letters I include a little mail tag envelope. I don’t know how many of you are familiar with the concept, but I think it’s a great way to get to know things about your penpals life and later help keep things interesting. If you want to find out more about it, have a look here.

I’ve probably said it before, and I’ll probably say it again – I love that cat washi tape so much, it’s just pure fun! I’ve been using it so much recently that I’m wondering if I should get another roll of it while I’m home.

I like how using these paper bags make the letters seem a little like stuffed goodie bags – but maybe that’s just because I’m a very associative person.

Here’s what it looked like being sent off.

11 thoughts on “Giving orange some credit

  1. I think your pairing of the blue and orange was a fantastic idea. It all looks great! Orange has always been a “whatever” color for me, but if more people used it the way you do, I think I’d enjoy it a lot more.

    Like

    1. Thank you! And I would definitely recommend using mail tags! It’s a fun way to get to know aspects of the other person that wouldn’t necessarily come up normally in a letter, even if you write as rambling as I do.

      Like

  2. I seriously love your blog! Every post has such nice pictures, and are a great read! You have my follow! I’ve been seeing more and more about ‘snail mail’ and ‘happy mail’ lately. I feel like I’m missing out, not being part of the community! 😉 Any advice on how to get started ?

    Like

    1. Hello! Welcome to my tiny little corner of the internet, I’m really thrilled you like it so far! Thank you for following. No need to be missing out – there’s plenty of ways to get started. Hopefully, in the next two days or so, I’ll be putting up a blog post that deals with exactly this, but until then here are some tips: thepostalsociety.com is a great place to find people who love to write letters and so is Instagram. Check the tag #penpalswanted for a start 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

